header
headerhomehomehomestrategyrulescardsheader
     
cards
   

Rulebook Glossary - S

Rulebook Glossary

 

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - top

 

se - sk - sp - st

 

back to top of page se

selections
When a card is to be chosen by random selection, shuffle together all eligible cards, hold them so the faces of the cards cannot be seen, and let your opponent draw a single card, at random, from this group.

When game text allows an opponent to choose a card, that opponent may fully examine each eligible card before making the selection.

When a card specifies a selection that is not normally made by any player and there is a tie ("most Cunning personnel," "personnel with the highest cost," etc.) the player who commands the card specifying the selection chooses from each eligible possibility.

 

back to top of page sk

skills
A personnel "uses" one of his or her skills:

  • When meeting a mission or dilemma requirement, or
  • When you use game text on one of your cards that requires that skill.

For example, a dilemma reads: The most Cunning Science personnel who does not have Treachery is killed. Neither Science nor Treachery is a requirement (as neither is in boldface), so neither skill is being used.

If a personnel is not restricted from using a skill, he or she must do so. For example, your Diplomacy personnel faces a dilemma which reads: Unless you have Diplomacy or Telepathy, all your personnel are stopped. Your personnel must use the Diplomacy. For example, in the same situation, your opponent has a personnel at the same mission which reads: While an opponent's Diplomacy personnel is at this mission, that opponent must discard a card from hand to use that Diplomacy. This text now restricts your Diplomacy personnel from using that skill; you may choose to not discard a card from hand and not use that Diplomacy.

If game text requires you pay a cost to use a personnel's skills (as a whole), you may use any number of that personnel's skills at the time you pay the cost. For example: While a Diplomacy personnel is at this mission, that personnel's owner must discard a card from hand to use his or her skills. If you are completing a mission and have a Diplomacy personnel who could provide three skills in that mission's requirements, you need only discard one card from hand to use all three of those skills.

When a personnel gains all skills from another personnel, all levels of those skills are gained. However, when a personnel gains a single skill from another personnel, only 1 level of the skill is gained. For example: When your Affiliation Klingon personnel is facing a dilemma, he or she gains all skills and attributes on a Affiliation Klingon personnel in your discard pile. If the skills of the personnel in the discard pile include 2 Diplomacy, the other personnel gains 2 Diplomacy. For example: Order - This personnel gains one skill from one of your captives. If this personnel is gaining Diplomacy from a personnel who has 2 Diplomacy, she gains only 1 Diplomacy.

 

back to top of page sp

species
Some personnel are members of species which share the same name as an affiliation. Affiliations are always referred to by an icon. Any use of the actual word (Klingon, Romulan, etc.) is a reference to species.

For example, if a card required you to command a Affiliation Klingon personnel, a Affiliation Federation Worf would not meet this requirement, despite being Klingon. If a card required you to command a Romulan personnel, a Affiliation Romulan Reman would not meet this requirement, despite being a personnel.

Two personnel are the same species if their species is an exact match. For example, two Alien personnel are the same species, while a Human personnel and a Betazoid/Human personnel are different species.

 

back to top of page st

stopped
Stopped cards do not prevent you from taking actions with other unstopped cards they are present with.

For example, you may begin an engagement involving your ship that has stopped personnel aboard, as long as you have enough unstopped personnel aboard to meet any requirements. You may attempt a planet mission using your unstopped personnel on that planet; any stopped personnel on the planet are ignored.

Though stopped personnel cannot staff ships, they are still carried along with that ship if it moves using unstopped personnel.

You cannot use the game text, attributes, icons, or any other characteristic of any of your personnel or ships that is stopped. (Though you must still obey the uniqueness rule for any of your stopped unique cards.) For example: To play this interrupt, you must command a Affiliation Bajoran Anthropology personnel. You cannot play this interrupt if every Affiliation Bajoran Anthropology personnel you command is stopped.

You cannot use another card's text to affect one of your stopped personnel or ships. For example: When your Affiliation Romulan personnel is about to be killed, randomly select another of your personnel present to be killed instead. This game text does not allow your stopped personnel to be killed instead of the Affiliation Romulan personnel about to be killed.

Equipment does not become stopped, even if all the personnel present with that equipment are stopped.

 

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - top