header
headerhomehomehomestrategyrulescardsheader
     
cards
   

Rulebook Glossary - A

Rulebook Glossary

 

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - top

 

ab - ac

 

back to top of page ab

ability (updated by Current Rulings)
Any action in the game text of a personnel is an ability.

 

back to top of page ac

action
Nearly everything that occurs during the game is some kind of action. Players perform actions to play cards, draw cards, use game text, execute orders, and so on. Normally, a player takes actions only on his or her turn. However, there are also response actions, which can take place on any player's turn.

Response actions - The game text of a response action always begins with the word "when" and has a trigger describing the situation that allows you to use that game text. Any time the trigger is met, you may use the text one time.

Sometimes the trigger for more than one response action will be met at the same time. In these situations, a player may use as many response actions as he or she wishes, in the order of his or her choice. The player may use different copies of the same card to perform the same response action more than once.

Sometimes more than one player will wish to use a response action. The player whose turn it is always has the first opportunity to do so, then the player to his or her left, and so on clockwise. If a player does not wish to perform a response action, he or she may simply pass. Passing once does not prevent a player from performing a response action later. If each player passes consecutively, the opportunity to respond is over.

Sometimes a response action prevents another action before its effect takes place. When this happens, any costs of the prevented action remain paid.

Requirements - Check all requirements to perform an action (such as playing a card) before paying its costs. For example, some cards require you command personnel with specific skills or characteristics.

Costs - A cost of an action could be paying counters, stopping a personnel, discarding a card from hand, destroying a card, or any number of other possibilities. The costs for an action are usually listed before the word "to" (so the action takes the form of "pay X to do Y," with X being the cost and Y the effect).

If you command two or more cards that have actions with the same costs, you must pay for each separately. You cannot pay one cost to perform two or more actions.

Effects - If the effect of a card's game text requires you to perform an action and you cannot, you must perform as much as you can and ignore the rest. For example, if the effect of a dilemma stops two Medical personnel and you only have one Medical personnel attempting the mission, stop the one you have and ignore the rest.

If you meet all the requirements and pay all the costs for taking an action, you may take that action even if it will have no effect. For example: Order - Discard a card from hand to draw a card. You may discard a card from hand even if you have no card to draw remaining in your deck.

When separate effects combine to create a repeating loop, the player taking his or her turn decides which effect takes place. For example, a Treachery personnel reads: While an opponent does not have an Intelligence personnel at this mission, his or her personnel at this mission cannot use their abilities. An opponent's non-Intelligence personnel reads: While an opponent's Thief or Treachery personnel is at this mission, that personnel cannot use his or her abilities. When these two personnel are at the same mission during your turn, you decide which of them cannot use his or her ability.

 

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - top