|
|
|
|
|
|
||
|
Major Rakal's Romulan Review #57: Facilitating understanding of Facilities; Part 3: Who and What? (08/23/1998) |
|
|
|
Aefvadh! We've covered "How many?" and "Where?". Now that you have your allowable facilities at appropriate locations, what do you do with them? Well, reporting personnel (and ships) is arguably the most important reason for most facilities to exist. Which leads to two new questions: "Who can use a facility?" and "What cards can report there?", covered in part 3 of the series... FACILITATING UNDERSTANDING OF FACILITIES, PART 3: WHO AND WHAT? Who can make use of a facility's reporting and other capabilities? While most cards may be used only by the player who plays or seeds them, that's not always the case for facilities. Here are the rules for facility use:
Matchmaker, Matchmaker, Make Me A Match (Will You Settle For Being Compatible?) To understand how to use facilities, we also need two definitions, for "matching" and "compatible." Straight from the DS9 rulebook glossary:
What cards may "work together" (use, mix and cooperate)?
(Restriction boxes may override these rules; for example, Tallera "does not work with other [Fed] personnel" even when she is in Federation mode, and Galen "does not work with [Fed]" even though he is Non-Aligned.) When a facility or site refers to a matching or compatible personnel or ship, it means the personnel or ship must match, or be compatible with, the facility card. If a facility is commandeered, its affiliation icon may have changed (that is, it may not be what is printed on the card). For example, if I commandeer your Deep Space 9 / Terok Nor (Bajoran icon) with a Romulan Away Team, I flip the card to the Deep Space 9 / Terok Nor side (Cardassian icon), but its affiliation is now Romulan. Romulan cards now match the station; Romulan and Non-Aligned cards are compatible with the station; and neither Cardassian nor Bajoran cards are compatible or of matching affiliation. Reporting Cards For Duty To report cards to a facility, the card must be compatible with the facility (unless a site says otherwise), and both the card and facility must be in their matching quadrant. So you may not report Locutus of Borg to a Borg Outpost in the Delta Quadrant (because Locutus does not match the Delta Quadrant) or to a Borg Outpost in the Alpha Quadrant (because the outpost does not match the Alpha Quadrant). The rest of this discussion assumes matching quadrants. Outposts and Headquarters
Example: You have a Federation Outpost and a Husnock Outpost in play. I have a Chamber of Ministers in play. Without a treaty, you can report your Federation cards to your Federation Outpost or your Husnock Outpost; your Bajoran cards to your Husnock Outpost (as long as no Federation cards are there) or my Chamber of Ministers; and your Non-Aligned cards to any of the three facilities. If you now play a Treaty: Federation/Bajoran, you may report any of your cards to any of the facilities. Stations
The Nor must have at least one docking site for any reporting (of personnel, ships, or equipment) to take place at any site on the station. (Cards may not report to a Colony or Terraforming Station, because those stations have no site cards.) While either player may report cards to sites, simply being compatible with the station is not enough to allow a card to report there. Each site card states exactly what cards may report there. Reporting may be restricted by affiliation, classification, ship staffing requirements, or in other ways. Example: You have Terok Nor with the following sites: Ops, Infirmary, Guest Quarters, and Docking Ports. You are playing Cardassian (no Non-Aligned); I am playing Romulan with Non Aligned. What cards may wereport to this Nor?
In Part 4, we'll look at other common facility questions, including how their SHIELDS work, and what other functions you can carry out there. |
||